Communications Engineering Lab

Software Defined Radio and Cognitive Radio

The vision behind software radio is to realize a radio’s communication specific signal processing, e.g. modulation, channel equalization and channel coding, as far as possible in software. Ideally, customized hardware could be replaced by a general purpose processor with D/A- and A/D-converters and amplifiers. This allows for highly flexible usage of the hardware, as signal processing is carried out as algorithms on the general pupose processor.

The CEL has been continuously involved in SDR projects since 1996. Based on this experience, CEL is now pursuing the evolution of software radios towards cognitive radios. Cognitive radios are self-learning intelligent software radios which are able to monitor their environment and to adapt to the actual conditions such as standards, channel properties, etc.

Due to the vast software and hardware infrastructure available at the CEL, multiple research projects in the scope of software and cognitive radios are possible. Models and algorithms can be investigated using simulations. We have access to large software libraries to describe transmission systems. Additionally, the available hardware - Universal Software Radio Peripherals (USRPs) from Ettus Research - allow testing and experiment validation of the algorithms.

Communications Engineering Lab

Software Defined Radio und Cognitive Radio

Die Vision eines Software Radios besteht darin, die kommunikationsspezifische Signalverarbeitung eines Funksystems – wie etwa Modulation, Kanalcodierung oder Kanalentzerrung – so weit wie möglich in Software durchzuführen. In einem idealen Software Radio wird die spezifische Hardware durch einen General Purpose Prozessor in Verbindung mit A/D- und D/A-Wandlern ersetzt. Da die Signalverarbeitung somit nur noch in Form von Algorithmen auf dem GPP erfolgt, entsteht ein Funkgerät, das eine sehr flexible Verwendung erlaubt.

Das Institut für Nachrichtentechnik (CEL) ist seit 1996 in vielfältige SDR-Projekte involviert. Aufbauend auf dieser Erfahrung verfolgt das CEL die Entwicklung von Software Radios hin zu Cognitive Radios. Cognitive Radios stellen eine Erweiterung der Software Radios dar. Bei Cognitive Radios handelt sich um  lernende und intelligente Software Radios, die in der Lage sind, ihre spektrale Umgebung zu beobachten und sich somit an aktuelle Gegebenheiten – wie etwa sich verändernde Kanaleigenschaften oder lokal verfügbare Funkstandards – anzupassen.

Durch die umfangreiche Soft- und Hardwareausstattung des CEL ergeben sich vielfältige Möglichkeiten der Forschung im Bereich Software und Cognitive Radio. Modelle und Algorithmen können durch Simulationen untersucht werden. Hierbei stehen umfangreiche Bibliotheken zur Beschreibung von Übertragungssystemen zur Verfügung. Zusätzlich erlaubt die vorhandene Hardware – wie Universal Software Radio Peripheral (USRP) Boards von Ettus Research – das Testen der Algorithmen, indem diese in experimentellen Aufbauten realisiert werden.